Rookie Alexander Rossi, Honda win Indy 500: 'I have no idea how we pulled that off'

American competition horse stretches fuel, coasts opposite line to win 100th runningYes, Alexander Rossi is a ultimate Indianapolis 500 champion.In a single of a most stunning finish in Indy 500 competition history, a former Formula One driver reached feat line in his initial oval competition during Indianapolis Motor Speedway.Rossi won for a combined bid of Andretti Autosport as well as Bryan Herta Autosport. Michael Andrettis team won for a for a fourth time -- four different drivers -- as well as Bryan Hertas team has won twice since 2011. The other feat was with Dan Wheldon.Rossi won by conserving fuel as a leaders realized too late they werent going to make it upon fuel. As most pitted, Rossi slowed down as best he could."I have no idea how we pulled which off," Rossi said after a race.Rossi, who won in just his sixth IndyCar race, held off Carlos Munoz as well as Josef Newgarden, who both pitted. The margin of feat was 4.49 seconds.The competition featured 54 lead changes (second-most in 500 history) as well as 13 leaders. IndyCars timing as well as scoring system clocked 850 passes during a 200-lap race.The spectacle of a 100th was displayed from a dawning of a morning, with 350,000 people pouring into a ancestral facility for a initial sellout in IMS history.Buddy Laziers car had a stifle problem ahead of a start, keeping him from taking a immature flag. He missed a initial 48 laps as his crew made repairs.Pole-winner James Hinchcliffe led a sprint to spin one, though as he predicted, he wasnt in a lead a initial time a pack got to spin three. That honor went to Ryan Hunter-Reay, his former Andretti Autosport teammate.The dual took turns swapping a lead -- 12 times in a initial twenty-four laps -- as well as a chase was on. Hinchcliffe initial incurred trouble upon a initial pit stop when a fueling resource stuck, costing him an extra five-plus seconds. He exited sixth.After debris upon a lane during path 47 created a initial caution, most of a competitors came to pit road. Exiting, Will Power drifted far-reaching into a pit road path of Tony Kanaan, who easily brushed a wall. Power was penalized for an unsafe exit, a chastisement Team Penske teammate Simon Pagenaud later incurred as well after attack Mikhail Aleshin.Juan Pablo Montoya wasnt able to defend his pretension after losing control of his Penske appurtenance in Turn 2 of Lap 64. After finishing first, fifth as well as initial in his initial 3 500s, Montoya strike a wall for a initial time in his IMS career.I just mislaid it, said Montoya, who started 17th.The last driver to win consecutive 500s was Helio Castroneves in 2001 as well as 02.Sage Karam was charging to a front after starting 23rd when he ran out of Turn 1 real estate battling Townsend Bell for a fifth spot. Karam found himself too high in a corner, as well as a car wiggled. Before Karam could get behind upon top of a steering wheel, impact with a outside wall came, as well as it was a strike significant enough to damage a SAFER barrier, which compulsory repair.On a pit stop which followed, Bell as well as Castroneves came together upon exit, a hit sending Bell into a path of Hunter-Reay. Both Andretti cars incited to a inside wall, Bells attack a tire sitting out. Both drivers mislaid a path as repairs were made, as well as Bell mislaid another portion a chastisement for an crude move. (He got a single path behind shortly after a restart.)The subsequent counsel was a outcome of Laziers left front circle entrance off upon a warmup line in spin one. While which wasnt newsworthy, a fact which several contenders were upon pit road when a counsel came out as well as others werent was. Castroneves, Kanaan as well as Newgarden led a margin behind to a restart.Castroneves got split upon a restart by Kanaan as well as Newgarden, with Kanaan taking a lead in spin two, Newgarden passing him in spin 3 as well as Kanaan getting a lead behind in a subsequent approach to spin one. Castroneves forsaken to fourth as well as then was struck in a left rear bumper by JR Hildebrand. Castroneves caught a break when a yellow for Takuma Sato drifting into a wall came. The Penske crew replaced a Brazilians rear section, though he was 19th during a restart. Alexander Rossi became a initial rookie since Helio Castroneves in 2001 to win a Indy 500. Photo by LAT PHOTOGRAPHIC 100th running of a Indianapolis 500 By Autoweek Staff

Auto Sounds of Santa Barbara

1024 De La Vina St
Santa Barbara, CA 93101

M-Sa: 9-6

Window Tinting Santa Barbara